Posted by: Tamara Harrison | June 7, 2011

Finding meaning in a mean world


Photo Credit

I wish everyone would just be nice.

Or maybe I just wish I wasn’t so sensitive.

Truth is, I get really sad when someone is anything less than sweet-as-pie to me. An ugly tone or a sarcastic remark chases the sun out of my sky and leaves me feeling weepy.

And don’t even get me started on driving; if someone as much as honks at me I might start crying.

What is wrong with me?!

Perhaps you’re like me; you let the way people treat you set the tone for your day. You let other people’s attitudes determine your mood.

It may make you want to retreat from the world, creating insecurity in your heart. Or it may make you strike back in retaliation, creating anger and bitterness.

One thing I do know is that when people treat me negatively I must—I repeat—I MUST find my refuge in God.

When I am shaken by the wrongdoing of others, I need to set my mind on the love of my God, the love that never does me wrong.

Psalm 42:5 says:

“Why am I so discouraged? Why is my heart so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise Him again—my Savior and my God!”

I love the emotion in this verse; I can almost hear the writer saying “what is wrong with me?? Why do I feel so sad??? What am I going to do??? I know!!! I’ll put my hope in GOD! I’ll praise HIM!! I almost forgot! He’s my SAVIOR! HE’S MY GOD!!!!!!!!”

Yes, when people bite I will find my hope in my God.

My hope is in His love not in other people.

And when my hope is in Him I am free in the most amazing way.

I am free to not let people’s actions affect me. I am free to receive my joy from God and not from people.

No individual can complete me. No individual can satisfy my longing for approval and security. Refuse to look for it in people. Accept it in GOD.

My identity is rooted firmly in God; I am who He says I am. I am not how others make me feel.

And ultimately I can’t fix others. I can’t live in a world where everyone is nice, because everyone has hurts, problems, and sin.

I can’t fix them and I can’t be their judge. Everyone is responsible to the Ultimate Judge who will bring justice and will right all wrongs when the time comes. In the meantime, I will focus on 3 things:

1) I am responsible only for my own actions before God.

2) I can’t take it personal when people say and do hurtful things.

3) I must find ultimate approval and joy in God.

This spells freedom! Now, as Proverbs 10:25 says:

“when the storms of life (or mean people) come, the wicked are whirled away, but the godly have a lasting foundation”.

My foundation is God, not people.

Focus on your own actions, don’t take other people’s actions personally, hope in God.

You can build your foundation on how people treat you or you can build it on God’s love. Which one will you choose?

Leave a Reply

Categories

