Posted by: Tamara Harrison | June 25, 2011

He has a plan!

Wow, God has been teaching me so much lately. Since I’ve
graduated I’ve had such a “desert experience”, one of waiting and searching,
seeking and hoping. I’m sure anyone reading this can relate. We’ve all been in
a position where the future seems so uncertain; where we’re just waiting.

What I’m waiting for is my Green Card. Being a Canadian in
America, I have to go through a long process to be able to legally work. While
the break from school has been nice, I’ve spent most days feeling bored and lazy.
I mean you can only find so much joy out of housework and grocery shopping.

The lack of purpose I was feeling quickly spiraled into
negativity and self-pity. I had to constantly battle the messages Satan was
feeding me. Those messages told me I wasn’t good enough, I wasn’t worthy
enough, I wasn’t successful enough. It was very self-defeating. I have all
these dreams and passions and I felt like they weren’t getting used. I started
to feel like maybe I was useless.

But in the midst of my despair, God spoke a verse deep into
my heart:

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not
for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. (Jeremiah 29:11).

I’ve heard this verse a lot before, and it’s an amazing
verse, but it took on a whole new meaning to me at this point in my life.

God has a PLAN. And it’s so much bigger and better than I
can imagine. It’s a GOOD plan, a plan of HOPE, a plan that has an incredible
future.

God is so BIG. He holds the very world in His hands. He
sustains everything and nothing happens without His permission. Furthermore, He
organizes and plans our very futures. And those who know Him know that His plan
is never for evil. His plan is always filtered through hands of love. And so
even when we feel like His plan isn’t working out how we want it to, He tells
us that He knows what He’s doing. And it’s going to be amazing.

Soon after I got really disheartened about my current
situation I went to volunteer at Miracle Hill, a place for women to overcome
addictions.

I sat in for one of their Bible studies and was asked to
share my story with the women. As soon as I was finished, the women had a
number of questions, specifically about how I battled an eating disorder. The
Lord gave me words for them that I can only attribute to the power of the Holy
Spirit. Those words spoke truth into their lives and met them in their
brokenness.

The woman in charge met me after the meeting, overwhelmed at
what just happened. She explained to me that they have prayed for someone to
provide support to women who struggle with eating issues.

I explained to her that I’m not adequately trained, but that
God had given me an enormous desire to help women with eating disorders. She
told me she would talk with the director and see how they could use me at the
center.

I’m waiting to hear what becomes of this, but if nothing
does, I am still amazed and in awe of what God did.

He heard my cries and He had a plan. He HAS a plan. A plan
to make beauty out of ashes. A plan to fulfill my hearts desires. A plan to
bring light out of darkness.

Once again, God proved to me what He did not have to. I didn’t
deserve an explanation for the way God does things, I just had to trust Him.

Will I perfectly trust Him with my future from now on?
Probably not. No. But He knows that. And although I think it grieves Him that His
child doesn’t trust that His plans, I know it delights Him to show me over and
over again how much He loves me.

Maybe you’re in a position in which you can’t see any
possible good outcome. Perhaps your future looks so unpromising that it’s
causing you to spiral into self-defeat and depression.

Can I encourage you again with God’s words?

For I know the plans I have for YOU,” says the Lord. “They are plans for GOOD and not
for disaster, to give you a FUTURE and a HOPE.

Meditate on that. Memorize it. Believe in it. It’s true.

You have an amazing future ahead of you. Even if you’ve
messed up so badly that your life is in shambles, God specializes in fixing
messes. He created you and gave you passions, desires, and talents. Why would
He do that and then not fulfill them? Remember that our God is good.

If you are reading this and see the mess your life is in but
haven’t put your trust in Jesus Christ, He is the missing link. God longs to
fix your mess. He loves you. But He’s not going to force you into a
relationship with Him. He sent His Son to die for your sin so you could receive
His free gift of eternal life. I promise you, that hole you’re feeling in your
life is meant to be filled by God. Please talk to me or another Christian about
giving your life to Christ.

Remember, God has a plan. Trust Him. He has so much in store
for you. We can’t even begin to imagine what it’s going to be like. He’s just
awesome that way.

I have new hope because of God’s amazing intervention and ordination
in my life. Don’t fall into despair because the future looks unpromising. Trust
and believe in His good and perfect plan for you.

 Photo Credit

Responses

  1. This post has moved me to tears. At times, I find myself doubting God and becoming deeply discouraged. This post has reminded me that even in the midst of our most difficult circumstances, God is working in our lives. Love the blog, keep writing more posts. I will visit often.

    • You’re so right, He is always doing something good, even when we don’t see it! For me it’s a moment-by-moment walk of trust and dependence, I fail often! Thankful His mercies are new every morning! Thanks again for reading!


Leave a Reply

Categories

