Posted by: Tamara Harrison | July 10, 2011

Fearfully Made

 “I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;  Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well.” Psalm 139:14

I’ve read this verse many, many times. I’ve probably memorized it at some point. But this morning I actually read it for the first time. 

And for the first time, I was struck with a question about the meaning of this verse. What in the world does it mean that God made me fearfully? 

Was He scared when He made me? Of course not. God doesn’t get scared. 

Was He nervous that He would make a mistake? Definitely not; God doesn’t make mistakes. 

I had to look up exactly what this means. In the Greek this word means to revere. To have reverance for something is “to feel deep respect or admiration for something”.

Wow. I don’t know about you, but the idea of God forming me in reverance blows my mind.

As He was molding you and I, He took such care and purpose in His work. In fact, in Ephesians it says He made us His masterpiece. 

Today I want you to look in the mirror and realize how amazingly God made you. How wonderfully He formed you, how purposefully He created each and every part of your body.

It’s easy to be critical of your body. The world sends us messages about our body we were never meant to hear.

But hear God’s message to you:

“My frame was not hidden from you,when I was being made in secret,  intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance;in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.”

God hand-picked your body frame, He intricately designed you, and formed you in love. I know you may not like your body. I know it may be really, really hard to see it as beautiful. But it is. God designed it with awe. His perfect creation is YOU.

Please rejoice in that today. See your body as God’s workmanship, enjoy the ability He has given you to move it and express yourself through it. And give the honor back to Him for making you so wonderfully amazing.

Photo Credit

Responses

  1. a wonderful snippet or God’s Word for tday. Thx!


Leave a Reply

Categories

